June 2015

This summer has been a particularly special! The more I think about the time at the London School Of Economics and Political Science, I get more excited to back to university. I keep thinking about the campus and the other little things that make me so pleased about the thought of study there! The little bars, pubs, cafes, libraries and common rooms hidden in this campus.  Lse_library_interior

On the fourth day in London , i attended to a public conference at the LSE, which inspires many as dream.. As soon as i got there, I found my way to the main entrance, lost myself on campus, sorted out the university map, and got a tour of the main buildings.

To begin with, let me describe Houghton Street or the “LSE high street” – the main road down the middle of the LSE campus which ends on the Aldwych (in London you cannot get more central than the Aldwych). It has only LSE buildings all the way down, except a little non-LSE cafe and a NatWest right at the very end.

tumblr_mkk63td4ry1qj5izko1_1280

But this was just the beginning. When I walked behind the campus, I was truly amazed by the atmosphere of New Academic Building. I haven’t seen this building before , even I passed many times by the SE high street. The Waterstones bookshop is also there – my spesific favoruite place – , standing next to the St Clement’s Library. Most probably , one of the places I enjoyed lot has been this bookshop.

The smell of the old books and the wood on the floor, old lights, little sunshine trying to coming from little windows was on the roof. There wasn’t much to explain but I just let the atmosphere to fill my soul up. I allowed move the time a bit forward, when I would studying with my new friends which were more friendly. I almost saw people who I would call ‘close friends’ on the up coming weeks and then had it all away in the smoke of the fantasies.

21186544In total , the short LSE campus tour has been definitely excited. All places at LSE were so ancient and beautiful, resonating millions of lives of all the people walked through the up and down the stairs. A stairs connected weirdly each other wasn’t so differet from a perfect labyrinth structure. I was struggling to find my little space in this ecosystem and yet I already see it: the college is like a noisy beehive. A vast code of unwritten rules regulates the way people walk around, what they eat, what they decide to talk about, where they go. The only thing I was trying that to adapt this beehive. I felt completely alone, yet perfectly fine.

I looked around curiosly, during 40 mins bus trip to get back the house. How many times would I have catched the bus that early in the evening or day, to leave the city lights and go home? I couldn’t wait to see all seasons pass by there while looking at the buildings, and the trees, and the flowers.

London didn’t exist until minutes ago and now it was home to my deepest feelings of love, calm and happiness of past days.

G.

Leave a Reply

